Finding the Line (A Writing Exercise)

Creative writing exercises can be really helpful when you are trying to get “unstuck,” whether you are working on a project and are feeling unsure of how to move forward or just can’t seem to even get started on a new project. So, if you ever find yourself in a writing rut and want a way to dig yourself out, go look on the shelf and pull out one of your favorite books or even grab the book you’re currently reading.

Take the book and open it to any page, then without looking let your finger fall on the page facing you. Write down the line close to where your finger lands and use that as the starting point for your next story or poem.

I’ll show you how it goes. I’m currently reading “A Deeper Love Inside” by Sister Souljah. Excellent read, by the way. So, I open the book and on the page where the book falls open, I place my finger on the page. This is the line my finger lands on: “It was a mirror.”

My first instinct was to do it over, choose another line. A voice in my head said “What in the world am I going to be able to do with that line?” But I resisted the evil influence of that voice that is simply trying to discourage and I wrote the line down.

It was a mirror. Or at least I thought it was. How could one person resemble another so much? She had my small round eyes, an identical peppering of freckles across the bridge of her nose, and my small button nose. The hair was different though. My black hair was styled in long ringlet curls while hers had been cut into a short Afro.

While I wasn’t wearing any jewelry, she wore long, dangling earrings in the shape of the continent of Africa. A matching necklace landed just between the crease between her breasts. Her top was low-cut and I saw Africa without straining. She wore a pair of black spandex pants, while I wore a black, conservative pant suit.

She was me. Yet she wasn’t me.

I could go on. In fact, I plan to. I am going to continue writing on this in my writing journal just to see where it takes me.

This is just an exercise to show that you can sit down with nothing and end up with something. It may be something you use now, later, or never. But at least you got some writing done. And that’s the important thing. You have to keep flexing your creative muscles even when you don’t feel like it. Much like trying to continue your new workout regimen, sometimes you just have to push yourself when you have absolutely no desire to work out. And, hope that, somewhere along the way you will regain the passion that’s always been there.

Happy writing! 🙂

Peace and Love,

Rosalind Guy

 

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding the Line (A Writing Exercise)

  1. P. DeShone Tate says:

    That’s pretty unique. I’m going to try that, thanks for the suggestion.

  2. Writing Jobs says:

    That was an excellent post today. Thanks so much for sharing it. I
    really enjoyed reading it very much. You have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –

    Writing Jobs: Writers Wanted

Leave a Reply

