The Religion of Writing

I can remember in my younger years comparing myself to Job whenever I’d experience what I considered undue trouble and stress. Oh woe is me, I’d lament, picturing myself sitting beside the road. Gotta go the whole nine, right? So, yes, I pictured myself sitting beside the road and every once in a while one of my friends would pass by and say encouraging words or tell me to curse God because surely He doesn’t love me. Okay. That’s enough of that. My point is this: when we hear different stories from the Bible, while sitting in church, we find ways to identify with the people. Either we see their stories as a place to find encourage or validation, but they surely serve some purpose for us.

The same can be said of writers. We read story after story about the number of rejection letters an author received, think J.K. Rowling who was rejected by 12 publishing houses. We read these numbers and feel some solace: at least we’re not alone. Or we read about writers’ writing spaces and try to emulate their creative spaces or just come up with our own. With that in mind, I have added another page to my blog. Yay me!!! I know. I’m excited too.

My new feature “Ten Questions, Ten Answers” will begin running this week. Every week, I hope to spotlight one author in this space. The author will have provided ten answers to ten questions  that I have asked them. This, I hope, will provide inspiration for us all as we forge ahead with our own artistic endeavors. The first author I’ll be spotlighting is Alretha Thomas, author of “The Baby in the Window” and “Daughter Denied.” Her profile will be up on the “Ten Questions, Ten Answers” page on Wednesday, Oct. 16. If you have authors that you know or that you would like to see spotlighted here, please drop me a note or comment and let me know about them. Drop me an e-mail at rosguy31@yahoo.com to suggest other authors for the feature.

As always, happy writing and reading!

Peace & Love,

Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

