When It Rains, It Pours

We’ve all heard that cliche. And usually it refers to something bad. Not today. Okay, I admit it, I did receive another letter from an agent who said she would take a pass on Tattered Butterfly Wings, but I don’t care. So much other positive stuff happened today.

For starters, one of my students wrote an essay about believing in herself and what it means to follow one’s dreams. And in that essay, she mentioned me. She gave me much more praise than I feel I deserve, but I am definitely happy to know that she feels inspired by me. I’ve mentioned her before in this spot, Raven King, the student who also inspired me. She’s served as muse for a couple of my poems before.

Another thing that left me feeling wonderful: one of my former students came up to visit me. She was reading my poems and was pointing out her favorite poems. Outside of being absolutely overjoyed to see her, I felt wonderful knowing that she was able to relate to or enjoy my poems. 

Another great thing: One of my drama club students who purchased the book last week stopped by to tell me that she has enjoyed reading Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood. She said the poems are thought-provoking and force you to think about things in a different way. She especially liked the haikus. Yay me!

Yes, it poured down today because I have yet another good thing. So, I sometimes have students who sneak and read outside materials while we are reading a story or article in class. One of my students was obviously reading something on her Kindle. I tiptoed over to see what had distracted her and looked down at one of the poems from my book, Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood. I was a bad teacher, at this point. Instead of telling her to put that away until later, I asked her what her favorite poem was. She said she’s enjoying them all. That she would be so engrossed in my poetry, affected me in ways that left this writer speechless. To top it off: she asked when Tattered Butterfly Wings would be out because she can’t wait to read it.

Yes, indeedy, when it rains it does pour. And, happily, today I was caught in a thunderstorm of positively wonderful experiences. I’m so glad I went out without my umbrella and rain galoshes today because I was swept away in a rainstorm of such a magnitude that it left me breathless with giddiness and warm feelings.

Here’s to hoping that this is just the beginning!

Peace & Love,

Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

