Confessions of a Ten Year Old Girl: I hate it!

I hate it

by Rosalind Guy

I hate it

when grammy dies

the one who has

the sweetest hugs and

little old ladies who

smell like moth balls

pinch my cheeks

and say

She’s in a better place.

What place is better

than here with me?

 

I hate it

when stars shine bright

in the sky and brother says

Make a wish sister and

it’ll come true. So

I look up to wish for

a brand new Barbie doll

black, if you please,

but I don’t get it.

All I get, in fact

is to wake up with a star

on my eye. Nobody says

Don’t cry tho

so I do.

 

I hate it

when Janay is my best friend

in the whole wide world

but

that don’t matter ‘cuz

mama done lost her job and

daddy done lost his way home

plus there’s the fact that grammy’s gone

and mama says we gotta move

to the Walter Simmons projects

where there’s no Janay plus

grammy’s still gone too.

 

I hate it

when my stomach sings

like a grumbly blues man

who done lost his woman and

I go to the kitchen

but there’s no food

the fridge and cupboard’s bare.

The only thing in there is

roaches and a bag of flour

with no chicken to fry.

 

I hate it

when I rush home

to tell Uncle Pete about

that mean old teacher who

told me I won’t be nothin

in life, how she always

pickin on me, but he

just smile and his hand

slides up my thigh and

nobody is home to hear me cry

so I just fall asleep

and try to hold my breath,

trying to go be with my grammy

again.

 

I hate it

when I write a poem

to let people know

how I’m feeling inside,

how it feels to be me

only they don’t even care

‘cuz I’m not them and

they not me and

that’s the way they want it

to be.

 

**For all the little girls who have a “normal” life that’s anything but normal.

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

