A Poem for You

For the friend who told me she’s losing faith in love…

Don’t Fall for Love that Doesn’t Fall for You
By Rosalind Guy

Why do you keep knocking on doors you
know will never be opened to you? Doors
that are blocked by the very men who claim
to love you? Why do you keep watching them
walk away, day after day, knowing their intentions
were never to stay with you? Why do you stay
and try to force yourself where you don’t belong?
Stop, okay, it’s not fair to you and you know it.
You should stop and try to see who the real problem
is. It’s not the men who end up leaving you.
Everyone loves to pay clearance price for goods
they receive, and he’s loving not having to pay
full-price for the love you give. Just like the ones
before him, he recognizes the clearance tag. So,
again, I ask you why do you keep allowing yourself
to be devalued when you say you only want to find
someone to love you as hard and deep
as you love them? Time after time, you keep choosing
to stay with men who fail to value you in word or deed.

Why do you let him put your heart on a string, like a
big red balloon, headed to the outer reaches of the moon,
alone? He’s only stringing you along, staring in detached
amusement as you run along to try and keep up with him
while he plays with your heart, plays with your emotions &
stokes your fears of always being alone. Stop telling him shit
about how he makes you whole while he gives you no role
in his life. Stay in your lane, the place you belong.

It’s time to pull out, let the wasted years trickle to the floor
like children unborn, a love unformed. Once you pull out
of that space that was never meant for you in the first place
you can place your heart in the hands of a man who
won’t take your love & loyalty for a broken toy.
Finding love in life is all about the choices we make, and if he’s not
choosing to love you, maybe it’s time for you to move on &
replace your love for what he could potentially be and what the future may hold
with that old-fashioned love you used to feel for yourself. Then
wait for the man who will not only be there to catch you
when you fall in love with him, but he’ll fall too &
while he’s falling he’ll grab hold to you & never let go
until he has you right where he wants you: by his side,
not as a side chick or the other woman, but as the
only woman he wants to come home to.

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

