Blues of a Love Junkie Release Date

Blues of a Love Junkie is slated to be released by April 11, my birthday. I’m so excited. I’ve spent my entire spring break doing some last-round edits to the manuscript, getting it ready for publication. I’m currently finalizing the cover.

Today, I finished the Author’s Note, which will precede the poems. Here’s a little sneak peek:

Author’s Note
I’ve never believed in fairy tales. Not even as a little girl. I’ve known for as long as my memory stretches back that there is no such thing as “happily ever after.” I remember things like standing around with friends in the apartment where I lived, talking about the six-year-old little girl whose mother would allow drug dealers to sleep with her daughter in exchange for crack cocaine. I remember the popsicle man who drove through the apartment complex every day, looking to serve up something more than frozen confectioner’s treats. I remember wondering why my brother’s dad touched me differently when my mother was away at work. And I remember how even the park next to the apartment complex wasn’t a safe place to go alone because it was supposed to be home to a monk man, who would hurt little kids.
So, no, I never believed in fairy tales. I never thought some prince charming or fairy godmother would show up one day and change my life so I could live happily ever after. Not even in my dreams did I allow such childish notions to take root in my soul.
But I have always believed in the power of love. I remember trying to do things special to try and win my mother’s love. I remember asking for love instead of material things. Love, I thought, would be easier to obtain. I have always wanted nothing more than to love and be loved.
So the poems in this book are all about love. Because I believe that every story is a love story. Someone either loves, feels unloved, feels incapable of loving, feels betrayed by love, feels unsure about what love is, is afraid to love…Everyone feels something about love. And that feeling has shaped them.
So, I offer you a love story told in the form of poems. The poems in this collection have been weaved together to offer you a love story that I hope will touch your soul as much as it has touched mine.

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

I look forward to seeing the final product and hope everyone will get a copy of the book. Also slated to be released later this year is a book of short stories, tentatively titled, She’ll Never Tell.

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blues of a Love Junkie Release Date

  1. A..C. says:

    Several of the poems moved me to tears, especially “This is Just Another Love Poem”, the words were extremely moving. I was surprised that her feelings were for a married man. I also found it odd that in the acknowledgments LC was thanked for all of his encouragement and for inspiring her to be a better human, which is ironic because LC is a married man. I can’t help but wonder if he served as inspiration for the poem, “This is Just Another Love Poem”.

Leave a Reply

