Abortion Poem

An Abortion Poem

What made you think
I’d be okay, when you knew
I was stewing in a murky
pool of indecision & insignificant
pleas of a body that was straining
to accommodate ideas about what
it means to be a lady or
even a woman. Did you or
anybody ever think of me?

I can’t imagine a life
without me, but she could,
& that made all the difference
for me. I knew there was
no way I’d live to see
anything beyond her unformed
insides that matched her unformed
ideas. Yet, she still was somehow
able to decide to create, then uncreate,
me.

And now I must surrender
my will to live or even to breathe
the fresh air outside her body.
My mommy has become nothing
but a stranger to me, all with just
one word, a decision to kill me.

If I could say just one word
to my mommy, it would be
love. I would say love to the one
who chose, not birth, but giving
in to homicidal tendencies.
I choose love, because
even I know that the way to show
love is to always deny me &
give her the leverage to be happy.

Even when that means killing me.

Peace & Love,

Rosalind

 

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

