The Art of Unloving

The Art of Unloving

The art of unloving is
the most delicate of surgeries.
It requires a steady hand & focused
determination to spend hours tediously
removing the years of built up feelings.
Sometimes the harmful nostalgia
brings tears and fears that the heart
cannot be healed, but the hindrance of
disbelief only causes the surgery to
proceed endlessly. And sometimes
the unloved tries to stuff feelings
back in where they don’t fit or belong.
Don’t make the mistake of being
afraid to move on because
the art of unloving like all great art
takes time and attention. And, sometimes,
revision. So, just remember,
it’s important to wash your hands
before any important surgery so
before you begin the art of unloving
take care to wash your hands carefully
so an area, once cleaned,
won’t be re-infected and you won’t
return to a space that was unaffected
by your presence. The art of unloving
allows healthy remission of diseased
feelings, so what once affected you
won’t be able to make you sick anymore.
Begin the art of unloving with care
and precision and never self-doubt
your ability to complete the surgery.
Because once the pain is gone,
you’ll finally be able to move on
to a place where unloving has no
voice or place. And that’s where the
loving can finally begin.

Day 22 of the challenge and I’m loving this. Not every poem was at its best, but because I agreed to do this challenge, it has made me pay attention more. To everything. Because I know that tomorrow another poem must be written, so I’m always looking and listening, trying to tap into inspiration for my next poem. National Poetry Month! I love it baby!!!

It’s my hope that at the end of the 30 days, I will continue to tap into that source that helps me create, that helps me see stories that others cannot or will not see, without me creating the story and placing it before them. Because how do you know you’re a writer? You know you’re a writer when you write because you can’t not write. You know you’re a writer when, quite simply, you write.

Peace & Love,

Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

