Love Letters 5 (Nothing Lasts Forever)

Danny sifted through the few letters that remained, unsure of which one she should read next. It made her sad to realize that she’d reached the end of the love story. Even though she knew from the beginning what the end would be, she still feels a tugging in her that she cannot explain. Only four letters remained. The man who wrote these letters is not the man she’s known as grandpa, so she knew beforehand that their love story had somehow ended. The question was how. And why?

My Dearest Love,

I promised I would never hurt you
and I need you to know I never
intended to. Hurt you. I told you
this war was coming to an end,
regardless of the end, I told you
I’d never leave you, that I would
return to you soon. The truth is
I knew my words likely wouldn’t
prove true, but I didn’t offer
them as a way to deceive you.
Rather it was a way to
deceive me. I thought if I
dreamed hard enough, I could
dream myself free. It seems
dreams are nothing more than
a prison for hope and I daresay
I will never taste of freedom.
Still. I will always and forever
love you. Know this to be true:
A leaf dropped on the surface
of a lake causes hardly a ripple.
In fact, were it not for seeing
the leaf with your own eyes,
you’d never know it was there.
It has been about a year now
that I’ve been trying to make my
way to you, but all my efforts
amount to the presence of the leaf
skimming the surface of the lake.
I no longer wish to keep you waiting
for a love that is nothing more than
hope imprisoned in a dream.
Though I am unable to release my
self, I release you. I wish for you
to find a love who can love you
as hard as you love. A love who can
match all that I know you offer.
Forget all about me, knowing that
life is a peculiar creature and
sometimes offers us things, keeping
them just beyond reach. I simply
cannot take the steps required
to close the gap between you and me.
I cannot tear down the walls
separating us, so I finally concede.
Do not use this failed love as an excuse
never to love again. Do not become
one of those women who are broken,
believing love to be a villain who
arrived simply to kill something inside
of them, for this is not true. I
truly intended to love you. I just don’t
know what to do anymore. But I do know
that a man much better than me will one day
come along & sweep you off your feet.
And he’ll catch you when you fall. I wanted
to be that man, but knowing I can’t
I end this letter by saying, I’ll always love you, Love.

Signed,
the Mysterious Poet Dude

Danny had tears in her eyes when she reached the end of the letter. She let the single sheet of paper slip through her fingers. This is not what she’d been expecting. She looked down at the other letters that remained in her hand. Not now. I cannot read these now. She wasn’t sure how much longer she sat there in the darkening space of the attic, surrounded by the circle of letter s that had all been released to the attic floor. But when she did climb down from the attic, she felt a heaviness that she had not known when she initially entered the attic. She didn’t know how she’d be able to get rid of the extra weight she felt herself carrying. She just knew she needed to keep walking so she could get as far away from the attic as possible.

Peace & Love,

Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

