Enough

Words have power.
Yes. No. Hate. Love.
Words have power.
Ni****. Nigga.
Words have power.
Let. Go. Wait. Wait. Wait.
Words have power.
You said you’d never let go.
Words have power.
Breathe in. Breathe out.
Words. Have. Power.
Promise you’ll always love me.
Words have power.
Get that bi***! Get that ho!
Words. Have. Power.

Words will never hurt me. I remember saying that as a child. A simple childish comeback in response to being called ugly, dumb, or fat. Yes, that’s childish logic, to think that words can’t hurt. They can. Words also can heal. Words have so much power.

I recently finished reading “Stand Your Ground,” a novel by Victoria Christopher Murray. At the beginning of the book, Murray explains why she wrote the book. She said she wrote the book because she wanted to “do something that mattered.” She also wanted to write truth. In the fictionalized account, Murray tells the story of two families caught in a tragic incident much like what happened the night George Zimmerman murdered Trayvon Martin. She tells the story beautifully and she allows her characters to speak from their souls and to tell their truths.

There were times when I was reading this book and the words angered me. There were also times when words pulled tears from my eyes. And there were times when the words caused my lips to curl up in a smile. The most important thing is that the power of words is shown as truth within the pages of the book.

As the protesters in the book chant, the word they say over and over again is “enough.” And that is the truest word spoken throughout the book. America has seen enough of black boys being seen as threats simply because they are black. The young man in this story is a typical teenage boy; he’s a truly smart and well-rounded kid. But his one mistake is taken and used to criminalize him even as his cold dead body is buried in the dirt. He could just as easily be either one of my sons and that scares me. So, yes, words have power. Enough. Enough. Enough.

Peace & Love,

Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enough

  1. nikki skies says:

    Maya Angelou described words as “wallpaper”. She said they lived with you and became furniture. You create your world with words, so yes I agree!

    • Rosalind Guy says:

      I remember hearing her say that. I think she said it the last time she sat with Oprah for an interview. She talked about keeping certain words out of her space because of the negative energy some words can bring.

Leave a Reply

