Street Level Drug Dealer

Just a little something I’ve been toying with today:

Words bleed from my pores,

staining my skin and my clothes.

No amount of sass to scrub clean

the words you dirtied my soul with.

You told me I was a failure,

so I strived to be much less.

You told me I was unloveable,

so I always settled for less than I deserved.

You showed me I was worthless

so I learned to seek the best, holding on to

nothing.

You pumped me with words as poisonous

as any street drug. Like any street level dealer

you knew how to control me: tempt with a taste

and you’d soon have control over me.

Like a drug-addicted scarecrow seeking to be filled,

I kept coming back trying to get my fix.

You never let me down either.

You chained my soul, filled my arms with

hypodermic needles too strong for me to remove.

Alone.

Love finally freed me. Love found me &

I found healing in the rehabilitative waters

of self. I pulled the needle of your words

from my arms so I could be free.

Now you hate me because I stopped allowing

you to teach me how to hate me. But that’s OK

we both know there’s always someone else,

somebody who’ll accept your drugs

cuz the war on drugs is not one we can win.

There’ll always be someone disgusting enough

to supply the poison and someone desperate enough

to need the fix to try and fulfill something within.

I’ve been working on my WIP, Micah’s Falls, but this poem is something that came to me while I was writing. I stopped to get down what came to me initially; I’ll come back to this poem later because I need to get back to work on my WIP. Hope you are doing something today to fulfill your wildest dreams because maybe they’re not so wild and maybe it’s possible for it to be more than a dream. Maybe one day all your dreams can be reality. Right? Right.

Peace & Love,

Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Street Level Drug Dealer

Leave a Reply

