Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?

Brother, can you spare a dime?
I don’t mean money
I’m talking about time.
Can you give me ten minutes
to remember why I rose in love
with you? Do you have just ten minutes
so I can skinny dip in your soul?
I want to get naked with you.
I want to hold you near me
without feeling you pulling away,
ready to move on to the next big thing.
I want to bare my soul for you
knowing that I won’t be naked alone.

I long to wrap my body and mind
in the gauzy fabric of your words.
I long to step fully
immersing myself totally in your love.
I heard a rumor,
something whispered through the grapevine
that you love me. Yet that doesn’t keep me
from longing to be carried away
to feel my soul shiver
the way my body shivers when you touch me.

I wish I could thread together your promises
to create one dime, a ten-minute block of time
that will belong only to me, where I don’t
have to worry about who’s coming next
and who came before. Mostly,
I just want to take my heart off pause
so I can feel loved by you again.

We used to swim in each other’s words
and now I’m drowning.
How can you save me or protect me
when you’re the one killing me?
How can you promise tomorrow
while stealing away today?

I still remember the first time
you told me
I love you….more.
It sounded like a recycled love song
but something about the look in your eyes
told me I could trust you
to not just remix, but re-make
that old tune. I knew your feelings were
genuine
But lately these blurred lines
have caused more tears in my eyes and
more fear in my heart
because in the gigantic river of my feelings
the only one that feels true
is that I’m finally losing you.

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?

Leave a Reply

