Crossed Wires, Crossed Lives

I usually try to avoid posting twice in one day, but, eh, what the hell?

There’s a world of difference between loving a person and valuing them. I could value your contributions to an overall effort without loving you. And I can love you because I do, without necessarily valuing you because maybe there’s some part of you I disagree with. Either way, there’s a difference between the two.

I read an article last week, one of those first-person point of view articles, where a man discussed why a man will leave a woman he loves. The most important thing, the author wrote, was value. A man has to see value for you in his life. That stuck with me because I came to this conclusion a while ago about romantic relationships, period. To make a long story short, I was in a relationship with a person who loved me but did not value me. So, he liked having me around but he didn’t give a damn about necessarily keeping me around. This caused us to have many arguments about the same thing over and over again. My most embarrassing moment from that relationship involved us playing bits of songs for each other. I chose songs that were about real love and commitment and, well, he chose songs about differences and how sometimes they can be too much to overcome. In other words, I was arguing for our relationship and he was arguing against it. Sadly, I didn’t leave after that. But, thankfully, I did eventually. And in one of those “I see you Universe” twist of fates, he claimed to see value in me after I left him and wanted me to give him another chance. I couldn’t though because I didn’t see him the same. I wasn’t willing to fight for us anymore. I’d fought so long alone that I was worn out.

Madea said it best when she said, we mess up when we commit to people we never were intended to be with. We earn our badges of honor, going through the fires of hell alone, with someone who could take us or leave us. So, I’ve been meditating today on the way lives cross and wires cross creating chaos in the place where love was once thought to reside and came up with the poetic exchange below. Of course, the Mysterious Poet Dude contributed his two cents.

He said:
I’d never hurt you
She said:
You’re hurting me now.
He said:
Pain ignites your Hope.
She said:
Pain steals my Hope.
He said:
Hope denies death by blind Faith.
She said:
But you’re hurting me still.
He said:
I hope you’re happy because
you are the magic
in which I believe.
She said:
I looked at you & saw magic
I had no idea your greatest act
would be to Disappear.
He said:
When a person shows you
who they are, believe them.
Where am I now?
Lost within a thought of what
could’ve been, trying to catch
up to what’s losing me.
She said:
My soul reached out to you, tried
to hold you, was confused when you
turned away. What else could I do
but turn away too?
He said:
Love is our chaos. Chaos is
our life. What is normal? Btw
who came up with that word in the
first place? Are any of us normal?
Or should we just call everyone chaos?
She said:
Loving you was never chaos because
it was so easy to do. Loving you
gave my heart reason to beat, my
words reason to be spoken, my eyes
a reason to see.
He said:
And the hurt you feel now
is not from the Love thief.
It’s hurt that comes from your very
existence, gives you the ability to pour
your vivid soul into the pool of life
as you live to speak about your
intimate experience with a love searching
to be shared while constantly being
disrupted by the timekeeper of your insanity.
She said:
Could this be an illusion then, the
vision I see of the timekeeper of insanity
strangling me, leaving me struggling to
breathe and wondering if time is running
out for me?

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

P.S. Hug someone you love tonight and let them know you love them. Tomorrow is not promised to any of us though we always like to live like we have forever. Do it for me, okay? Okay.

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

