Life in My Pen

They say I write too much
that I spend too much time
with my notebook and pen and
they tell me, “Words are not special”
especially not mine. They tell me
to find myself a respectable job
and to get my head out of the clouds.
They want to keep me rooted
to the earth even though it reeks of
my ancestor’s blood. Use your hands
to make a living. As if though
a beautifully written sentence
cannot cause your breath to catch,
the pulse to quicken. They
don’t understand an embrace
that can begin with the first lines
of a poem. They don’t see how
words—beautifully written words—
nourish the soul and make life
worth living. Or that a sentence
that practically sings can be as sweet
as the first kiss from a new lover.
The blood inside me boils feverishly
and when it begins to simmer
the blood flows from me through
the tip of my pen.
They tell me to stop writing,
that it’s a fool’s fancy to believe
that in a world of millions
my words can ever really matter.
They just don’t seem to understand
that passion unbottled becomes disease
and can slowly kill from within.
So I cannot keep these words bottled up
inside of me because surely it would be
the death of me
if I ever have to stop writing.

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

blues of a love junkieCover of my last book of poems, Blues of a Love Junkie

 

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

