Grandmother’s Yard

When you’re ten years old
lying on your back in the grass
in front of your grandmother’s
house, watching clouds overhead
transform into your dreams and
you turn to look at your best friend,
your virgin heart has no way to warn
you of the heartache that awaits you.
At that age, lying on your back
holding his hand is the closest
you’ve gotten to Heaven and you
can believe that Heaven lasts
forever. And when you’re old
enough to lounge on grandmother’s
porch, listening to the radio
all the songs you hear affirm
the lies cloaked in your soul.
You begin to think
make it last forever is simple
as holding onto the one who loves
you like you love him until you see
him chasin’ the one who refuses to
love him and you must watch while he
accepts the challenge of holding
down a love that doesn’t want to
be owned because a real man
doesn’t want anything just handed
to him, sometimes not even love or
you realize the one you love
never loved you, is incapable of
loving you and the ten—year old
living in you must accept that
love that once was able to
transform existed only in your
ten-year old imagination.

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grandmother’s Yard

Leave a Reply

