One Bad Sentence

I stared at it.

Something wasn’t right.

I couldn’t put my finger on what it was, but I felt that something just wasn’t right. I read the lines on the paper over and over again but it got no clearer. No matter how I stared at it, I couldn’t figure out what exactly made it “not right.”

I placed it to the side. Picked it up again. Set it aside again. I was torn. I had set aside an entire hour for writing and I’d only been writing, I checked the time – I’d only been writing five minutes, so it seemed wrong to give up after so little time.

But what could I do? I didn’t want to move further into the manuscript until I figure out how to fix this one sentence. If I accepted one bad sentence wouldn’t it be just as easy to accept another and another and another? I’d accept bad sentences until I became so apathetic that my writing was full of bad sentences.

I went back and read some of the earlier pages I’d written, the ones before the one with the bad sentence. I felt a sense of pride from reading those previous pages. I did stop to fix some dialogue. Took out a word here, inserted a better word there. Things were flowing well.

Until I got back to that one bad sentence. I took out a sheet of paper. Tried re-writing the sentence various ways. But nothing felt right.

What would a REAL writer do, I asked myself. Good question, right? No. Bad question.

It doesn’t matter how individual writers approach the revision process. There are no right and wrong ways to be creative. You just go with what feels right for you. Every writer should do what works best for him or her. As long as they proofread, edit, and revise. Lots.

I’m only on round four of revisions of the story I’m working on. It may require twenty more revisions or two more. I won’t know until I get there. And it starts to feel right.

In the end, I decided to work on the first ten pages. I didn’t try to emulate what I’ve read that other writers do; I will do what feels right for me. Because trying to be and do what works for other writers might not be what’s best for me. So, after I worked on the other pages, I still had time left. I wrote some lines of a poem. Jotted down some ideas for future stories. Read a few pages of the newest book I’m reading. Then I left and returned home so I could watch Thursday Night SmackDown with my son.

Happy Thursday peeps!

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

