A Love Like Home

I cannot handle loving
another person who doesn’t
get that loving me means offering
me another place to call
home, a place where my soul
doesn’t feel the need to unravel
& leave a trail to a place where
I am no longer me. I will not seek
shelter in any more abandoned spaces
that have been left empty; I have finally
learned how to love me & this loving
can’t be undone. & if that means
I’m one of the black women who
unofficial surveys and anecdotes claim
have given up on love, then that’s okay
with me. I will not force my being
or my acceptance into a place not meant
for me just so I can pass for
one of those girls in love – passing is a form
of self-degradation—you know the ones whose
smiles belie the sound of the tortured rattle knocking
in their souls, that tell-tell sign that something is
wrong. But you learn to ignore it because it’s
better to suffer for love, to break down for love,
to slip into the malignant shadows of
an ill-formed love than to be at peace
alone. Loving me feels like home & I won’t
abandon that love for anyone. Ever. Again.

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

