Dear Father

The illusion shattered
like broken glass & the shards
lay exposed.
You didn’t love me.
I went through life
being cut by the lies & rejection
that was your love.
Love should have come natural
but somehow
it never came at all.

How did you escape undamaged?
How did you learn to escape loving me?

I spent years trying to
get you to fall in love
with me. I never was able to see
that you never loved yourself
You only knew how to bury yourself
in the folds of other people’s rejection of you.
You clung desperately
to temporary validation found
in the eyes of those who
avoided seeing you. Showing you love
as long as they needed something from you.

My dear Father, why couldn’t you see
the way loving you
always brought me such pain?
Why did you choose to cut me with your love
when I only wanted to
heal you with my love?

Didn’t you know my love was true?

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

father and daughter

 

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

