I Wanna Hear a Love Song

Why aren’t any of the love songs
actually about love? There are songs
about longing to love
a woman the way she deserves to be
loved & songs about walking away from love
but nothing about holding onto love
as if though real love were enough to
grab ahold of and worth fighting for.
No songs to tell you that when you find love,
don’t let it slip away. There are songs
about taking what’s right here today &
trying to make it worthy of a song
with lyrics about a love that will never fade away.

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve been fooling
myself, thinking I was listening to love songs.
I’d lock myself in my room and cry as I listened
to the words of a love song or what I always
thought were love songs. But how can you walk away
from a love that’s real while singing about how
elusive love is? Are these songs meant to create magic?
The kind of magic that can turn honey-coated lies
into the lyrics of a love song,
a song so sweet it can make a young girl cry.

I wanna hear a love song
I wanna hear a song about love
that’s hard to find, but worth waiting for &
worth fighting to keep alive. A love that’s
more valued than any right here and right now.
I wanna hear a love song that doesn’t require me
to shred my own heart into pieces I’ll no longer
recognize. I wanna hear a love song that
assures me that there’s someone who’ll love me
exactly for me. I wanna know that love is
possible. I wanna know that there exists a love
that’s worthy of a love song.

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

love song

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

