The Break Up or What Never Really Was

He said

Just because you can
doesn’t mean you should
leave

She said

Any place that destroys me
destroys my soul, I don’t belong

He said

Sometimes it’s best to stay
Sometimes you have to hold on
a little longer

She said

Hope doesn’t heal a soul
that’s been destroyed. That’s why
I never would’ve destroyed you.
Not even a little bit

He said

I never tried to hurt you and
I most certainly didn’t want to destroy
you

She said

It happened too easily

He said

I want to stay and fight

She said

I don’t want an angry love
I need a love that’s soft

He said

Love is about sacrifice

She said

My greatest act of rebellion was learning
to love myself. I will not lose myself
fighting for a love that’s too hard for me
to handle

He said

Love isn’t easy

She said

It was easy for me
It’s always been easy for me
It’s loving the wrong people
that wasn’t easy

He said

Sometimes you have to fight for love

She said

I won’t fight you to love you
I’ll fight the landlord
the grocer
the butcher
the bill collector. Outsiders.
I’ll fight outsiders
But never you.
I’d never fight you.

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Break Up or What Never Really Was

  1. naleighmoon says:

    She said what her heart needed to say but oh I hope she knows it’s a long journey to it all being okay.
    Thanks for this poem. Your work is awesome.xx

Leave a comment