Alone in the Night

“My mother would kill me if she got the chance. I would kill my mother if I had the courage.” Annie John, Jamaica Kincaid

What about giving birth
left you wearing envy like
a second skin, too tight to move
around in? Were her cries too
suffocating for you to exist in & so
you been hitting back, fighting
ever since you first held her
in your arms and heard her cry
knowing sometimes you would not
be the one who could stop her tears

Empty insults & closed fists are
not God’s gift and should not have
been yours either. How can you not see
how she cowers underneath the blistering
rays of your hate? Why are you trying to
teach her to hate herself while despising
that very hate? You force her to stand in
your shadow, cowering, crying, trying to hold
herself together and you hate her for always
falling apart.

Will you always teach her to ignore the sun &
force her into the night? As if though you haven’t
always belonged to the night, as if though
you have not spent an eternity trying to part the folds
of night and escape. You know the horror of
being enveloped in dark clouds that descend
like a mist, slowly overtaking you until
there is no you left. Did you just not want to be
left alone in the night? Is that why you chose to
keep her lost in the night? Is that
why?

Peace & Love,
Rosalind

About Rosalind Guy

I'm broken & my soul is weary/ my weary soul rebels, fights/ anything & anyone who tries to heal me/I beat my head against a wall of memories/ trying hard to break free from the chain of memories/ I can only be free by saying it so/ i weave a necklace from words and finally/ I find freedom/ free free free. As you can see, words are powerful to me. As Maya Angelou said, words are wallpaper of the soul. I have lots of nightmarish memories that threaten to break me, but I learned a long time ago about the power of words. They can be used to heal and destroy anything that threatens to destroy the person. Words coupled with love have the power to save and heal. I am author of three books: Skinny Dipping in the Pool of Womanhood, Tattered Butterfly Wings, and Blues of a Love Junkie. I am a high school English teacher. I am a former reporter. I am a mother. I am a woman. I am a fierce advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves, those who's voices go unheard. Check out my Amazon author page at the following link: http://www.amazon.com/Rosalind-Guy/e/B00BGH5F88/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1432491754&sr=8-1.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment